Title Ko zinu gaidīt

ARTIST Laiksne

GENRE Post-Folk

SKU 2021 CD094
Price 10.00  incl. VAT

The sixth album by the Latvian folklore group “Laiksne” unites thirteen folksongs about the lifespan of women, beginning with being born, growing up, youth and preparation for marriage.

“Ko zinu gaidīt?” – “What should I await?” – is in between the known and the unknown. Life would be boring, if we knew everything beforehand,” this is what the members of the group say. “We have been cradeling this new album for three whole years, while looking for the songs in field-research archives, scriptures and among friends. The sound of “Laiksne” is created by all the group members together – it is created with a bright smile, to be listened to lightly!”

The album was recorded in studio  “GEM plus” (sound engineer Gatis Gaujenieks), group members Baiba Indrēvica, Dina Liepa, Laumai Garkalne, Imanta Nīgale, Vineta Romāne, Kaspars Indrēvics and Gatis Gaujenieks, and guest musicians in the song “Es piedzimu pie māmiņas” – Ilga Reizniece and children of “Laiksnes” Elizabete Miltiņa and Juma Gaujeniece.

  1. Ko jauna būdama - 3:12
  2. Es pazinu to meitiņu - 2:45
  3. Nepūta taures - 3:21
  4. Šovasar es valkāju - 2:55
  5. Ieva - 4:27
  6. Jaizalaide mān sauleite - 4:13
  7. Ods - 3:16
  8. Leigoj pologs - 3:06
  9. Zīdi, zīdi - 3:10
  10. Riti, riti - 4:06
  11. Miegs man nāca - 3:13
  12. Dzīžu, dzīžu vīna pate - 3:14
  13. Es piedzimu pie māmiņas - 3:02